Review – “Pick-Pocket Proof Pants” From Clothing Arts

categories: Uncategorized

Pick-pocket Proof Pants from Clothing ArtsUpdate Feb 9, 2020: I still love my “Pick-Pocket Proof Pants” From Clothing Arts

Clothing Arts had some problems where they had problems fulfilling the demand for their product. I don’t want to penalize the company for things they have already fixed. I have trimmed the comments that happened before 2018 as these are no longer relevant. If you do look at the comments, note that there seem to be more complaints in 2018 and far fewer by 2019.

Chris Christensen
AmateurTraveler.com

If you have some concerns about Clothing Arts you might checkout the travel pants from PraNa.

I don’t like to carry cash when I travel. These days you can generally get by with an ATM card and a credit card, but this hotel in Costa Rica was different. We were purchasing a 3-day package from them with two rooms and a rafting trip and so I found myself heading to Central America carrying $800 in cash. It sounds like a perfect opportunity to try out a pair of Clothing Arts pants that claim to be “Pick-Pocket Proof”.

Clothing Arts sent me a pair of pants to review (gratis) some time ago but I had been putting it off until I had a good opportunity. To be honest I am a blue jeans kind of guy. I work in high tech so even dressing up for work just means a pair of jeans. But jeans can be a bit impractical for travel. If you get them wet they take forever to dry, they don’t have enough pockets and they take up a lot of room.

These pants do ride come up a bit higher than jeans so if you have a middle-age spread like I do you may need to add some extra inches to the waist as I did.

pickpocket proof pants from Clothing Arts

My first surprise with the Pick-Pocket Proof Pants had nothing to do with theft protection. They were actually very comfortable. I had chosen the Adventure Pants vs the Business Pants. I wanted some cargo pockets for passports, boarding passes or electronics. They have a nice brushed twill feel and a crisp “man about the world” appearance.

My second surprise was that the fabric has been treated with Teflon to repel stains and liquids. I should have read this on the website but discovered it the old fashion way on the plane through my own clumsiness. Of course, I still need to find matching travel shirts that will repel Diet Coke, but one step at a time.

I was successfully not pickpocketed but can’t honestly say that it was because of the pants. I am not sure any pants are truly pick-pocket proof vs pick-pocket resistant. These pants have side pockets that zip up and then can be protected by a buttoned flap that goes over the opening. It does mean that you can’t stand around with your hands in your pockets as I am want to do, but with $800 in my pockets that was a small price to pay for a little peace of mind.

Share this:

by Chris Christensen

Chris Christensen is the creator of the Amateur Traveler blog and podcast, and a co-host for This Week in Travel podcast.

104 Responses to “Review – “Pick-Pocket Proof Pants” From Clothing Arts”

Rachel

Says:

Just came back from Morocco and France for a month my only regret was that I bought only one pair of paint. I was looking for traveling
Pockets paint for months. Could not find good quality one that has so many pockets and fit perfectly well. Discovered the website and decided
To try to no regrets. Thanks a million.

Brutus Sanchez

Says:

So I’m just back from two weeks in India. I was only in terribly crowded places a few times. No known pickpocketing attempts. But whereever I went, I went with complete confidence, even riding “the locals,” albeit on a holiday. The pants wore and performed well, and I was pleased by their dirt and stain resistance. Thanks Clothing Arts, good work. On to Portugal for my 70th birthday in March, and then never to travel internationally again!

David

Says:

I’ve purchased three items from Clothing Arts – two cargo long pants and one cargo shorts.

They fit great and have a lot of pockets and secret sections within those pockets. Some of the pick-pocket proofing is a bit over done and makes the pants/pockets pretty difficult to use and live with.

I probably won’t purchase them again and with an especial annoyance that it can take 6 months to get them delivered. It’s 2019 for God sakes. They have given me all kinds of excuses and explanations but the bottom line is, they’re nice but not good enough to wait that long.

Kayleigh

Says:

I travel quite a bit and have purchased and worn another/competitor’s products including a pair of travel pants, a shirt and a jacket and thought I would give Clothing Arts a try. The competitor’s pants have lots of pockets, but have a drawstring waist and when carrying a cell phone, wallet, etc., they tend to fall down even with the string tied tight.

Clothing Arts pants seemed like a great alternative until I searched for reviews and found this site and I will be passing on Clothing Arts.

The owner’s response of 9/6/18 does not hold water considering the continued business practice of taking a customer’s money and not sending the product until months later.

Honesty is the best policy and I will not do business with a company that does not operate that way.

Thank you all for giving the rest of us a heads up on this company!

chris2x

Says:

Yeah, a draw string does not seem like the best idea in travel pants.

Jay

Says:

I ordered a pair of Pick-pocket Proof Adventure Pants and two travel shirts. I was disappointed with the quality of the items, so I called the company to obtain a return shipping label. They refused to pay for return shipping, and I was transferred to a “manager.” I complained further about the merchandise quality and their unwillingness to pay for return shipping. The manager’s response was to argue about the clothing (something about how many pairs of pants they have sold), and then he threatened me, stating that if I wrote a negative review, they may not refund my money. I know that I should intimidate more easily.

Clothing Arts provided an unprofessional customer experience. Poor quality clothing. Awful customer service. Bad manners.

Buyer beware.

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

*** Response to Jay ***

Hi… I’m the owner of the company who makes these pants and would like to directly to respond to Jay. He called and spoke to me personally. He threatened to leave a negative review if we “DID NOT” provide him with a return label. I told him that he can do what he wants. The pants he received were returned to us for length issues and inspected by my lead garment designer to be a 30″ inseam. He insists they are not and this review is the result. I informed him that I was giving him personal attention and know what I am talking about regarding apparel considering the 150,000 pants we have walking the world. Long story short, we were dealing with shipping 100’s of pants that day and wished him safe travels.

George

Says:

This is why Amazon is weeding out poorly run local and other mail order businesses. Service Service Service

Sounds like this business should be avoided!

Lon

Says:

Well, God bless the internet. I was getting ready to order numerous articles for the family for our upcoming vacation and decided to scan for a review or two on the company. They do have a fantastic website . . . but wow. In light of the laundry list of negative comments I will be moving on.

MartyS

Says:

Be careful basing any purchase decision on the reviews on clothing arts website. They didn’t publish mine. It was overall positive but I recommended they add a few inches to the fly zipper. On $120 pants they shouldn’t be cutting 50cents off the mfg cost on that item. Makes them hard to use without undoing and lowering the pants.

Chris Christensen

Says:

Glad to hear at least that it was overall positive. I don’t remember noticing any issues with zipper length on the pants I have.

Lori

Says:

This is the worst online store I have ever experienced. I ordered an item two months ago and waited weeks for it to arrive. After contacting customer service several times and receiving excuses, I finally got the clothing item and was not satisfied with the fabric and the style. The waist was too tight, the legs extremely baggy. The fabric is not light for travel. The waist and pockets were too bulky obviously because of so many pockets. I am sure if you would put your phone, wallet, passport etc, the pants would weigh too much ……I returned them, paid for the shipping and have yet to receive a refund. I have sent them proof and tracking that the item was received at their “warehouse” and they state they never it received it………………………… This saga has lasted too long. I have never had such a bad experience on online shopping. If you plan to buy any item with Clothing Arts, be prepared for inefficient service and plan 6 months in advance. Hopefully you will receive the item(s) Good Luck . You may be much better off shopping at REI.

Gary

Says:

I like the fit and finish of these pickproof adventure trousers and shorts. However, I hate the long delays between ordering and getting them. My last order took a little more than 4 months to fill. That said, every time I have contacted Clothing Arts I have been answered promptly, professionally, and by someone who seems to care (usually Katrina P). The company has offered to send other colors etc. to help speed the process and have kept me informed as to times for expected deliveries and even on delays. I really like the products but for me, it is the service that will ensure I will be a repeat customer. I do hope they can get their supply line/production in order since this is no longer a start-up company they should streamline their process and get products out the door much faster!

Walter

Says:

I placed my order for 3 pairs of pants and my credit card was charged on Feb. 7, 2019, with an expected ship date of Feb. 28. After receiving nothing by early March, I contacted the company. They shipped one pair of pants on March 5. The pants are okay. As of April 1, 29019, I still have not received the other 2 pairs of pants and the company doesn’t answer the phone and hasn’t returned my voice mails. My advice: stay away.

Neil

Says:

Ordered the pants on 2/8 with expected ship date 2/15. Credit card charged immediately, but pants didn’t arrive until the end of March. I didn’t like the material (thin, wrinkly, and very hot) so returned them last week. Still haven’t gotten my money back. Very poor way to do business – hold onto customers money forever. Would NOT do business with them again. again.

Walter

Says:

I have an update. The company said they would cancel my long-delayed order. They promised to reverse the charge on my credit card and said this can take up to 5 business days. Fingers crossed. (They said the pants may be available in mid-April, but after already waiting almost two months, I’m not going to chance it. I’ll look elsewhere for travel pants.)

Marcello Marques

Says:

Same here – should’ve searched the Internet before ordering, it seems I’ve also been ripped off. Bought their “Pick-Pocket Proof® Convertible Travel Pants” late January (credit card was charged a few moments after placing the order), with expected delivery for 2/28; date passed with no news; on 3/15 received a pre-shipment notification, since then stuck at the “Shipping Label Created, USPS Awaiting Item” stage. Avoid Clothing Arts.

Jean George

Says:

I ordered these for my husband as a Christmas gift-2018. It is April 2019 and they are still stringing me along…production back-up, in transit, clearing customs….the bottom line is that they do not deliver. These guys are clever. They send you a tracking number and then when the items don’t ship they claim they have not left the warehouse. “Thank you for reaching out. Your Convertible Travel Pants are part of a pre-shipment. A pre-shipment notification simply notifies you that your item will be arriving in our warehouse shortly, and will then be on its way to you. They are clearing customs over the weekend, arriving at our warehouse, and shipping out Monday.
Tracking Number (Pre-Shipment): XXXXXXXXXXXX
I recommend checking back on the tracking on early next week, for the most up to date status. If the tracking is still on “pre-shipment”, that simply means it has not left our warehouse. ”
BOGUS COMPANY!!! DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM.

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

Response to Marcello & Jean George:

Your Convertible Travel Pants have all shipped out to everyone now and will arrive at your door tomorrow or Monday. We hope you enjoy traveling with them for many years to come. These were among 800 pants that all shipped the same day.

Stopped pick-pocket #115 in Paris (second in a row in the city) was also published yesterday as well. With over 130,000 pants in the world now, travelers are stopping pick-pockets each week now. We have two more testimonials to publish as well…

Neil

Says:

Pants were returned 2 weeks ago, still no refund. They’ve had my money for 3 months now. If no refund by the end of the week, I’ll file a chargeback with my CC company.

AVOID!

Tristan Davison

Says:

Please avoid this company. (1) Pants shipped after the date promised. (2) Pants fit poorly. I requested a refund and returned the product. This still had to be disputed with my credit card company to get the credit. A month after receiving the credit the company billed my account for the pants again. Yes, the pants I returned and they put back into inventory. Sort of an oxymoron: selling pickpocket pants while picking pockets.

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

Response to Neil and Tristan:

The returns department is a manual process and we suggest contacting us at our info@ email address over the phone at 646.422.9222

Please reach out to us directly as we can help you out.

Barry

Says:

Ordered the end of January with expected delivery 2 weeks later, based on their web site and emails. Pants didn’t arrive until the end of March. Didn’t like the fit or material, so I returned them. Took almost 3 weeks to get my refund.

Looking at earlier reviews, I see a pattern. This is a company I would not buy from again.

Dian Coppin

Says:

I ordered my black travel pants back in June or July and waited over five months for them because I wanted black.Because they were having a problem getting black, they offered me one of their other color. The pants were worth the wait. I ordered them for a two-week trip to Israel. I wore them every day from March 23 through April 7.Yes, for 16 days. They do, indeed, dry quickly. They do, indeed, keep items secure. (I kept my passport and credit card in one pocket, without removing them, for the entire time.) The design is so well thought-out and executed that I was comfortable walking, sitting, going through the waters of Hezekiah’s Tunnel, going up and down stairs, standing in a waterfall, and eating dinner. To say I am pleased is an understatement. While I traveled, I was not encumbered with trying to keep up with documents, money, lipstick, maps, notebook, and pen, because there was a pocket for each. Also, I felt that I was well dressed for dinner at the hotel. (Some commenters found the sizing unusual; however, my experience is that the sizing is “right on.” I wear a petite 4,and the extra waist measurement was easily fixed by the tabs.)
The several times I contacted “Clothing Arts” I always received a prompt reply, and when I called them three times, I found it easy to reach them and pleasant to talk with them. I am promoting the pants and will be ordering another pair before long.
Gratefully, Dian Coppin

Daniel

Says:

Charged my card in mid March, still haven’t received pants as of April 19th. After I complained, they finally called me back and said they get 1000 pairs of pants a week, but have only 5 people doing the shipping.

Adam Rapp - owner CA

Says:

Response to Daniel:

I actually took your call on Friday as I was helping out our service team during a high period of call volume.

You had already received your Business Travel Shirt which was listed as in stock at the time and did ship right away. I personally wear them all the time and hope you’re a fan as well.

The pants shipped 4/19 and were part of the 4/15 pre-order group. The delivery containing your order arrived earlier this week and my team ships on a first in first out basis.

We hope you enjoy your new secure pockets for many years to come.

Interesting fact: Last week was our biggest shipping week ever with 2000+ pants shipped by our 5 person shipping team.

John Tasco

Says:

Well darn, now I’m worried. Pre-ordered a pair on 25 Mar with an expected delivery of 15 April. Email with tracking number arrived giving me a delivery of 24 April. Went to the FedEx site on 24 April and my order hasn’t been shipped. Sent them an email so I’m hopeful they’ll respond with an update. If not, I’ll ask for my order to be canceled and money refunded.

John Martin

Says:

John Martin, Dewey Az. I ordered 2 pair of PPP Pants on April 1st and on a separate order, same day a PPP jeans. I adjusted my order to the colors they had in stock, not the colors I really wanted. I received a tracking # on April 15th ( 2 weeks later) I went to the PO in my town to check on the tracking # and was told a shipping form was filled out by Clothing Arts on 4/15 but as of today 4/24 they have not been delivered to USPS.I called Clothing Arts and was told 1 pair should go out on Tuesday to be delivered to my PO by Thursday or Friday. I leave for Peru, Columbia & Mexico City on May 4th. That is cutting it to close for me and the remaining 2 pair of pants won’t arrive till after I get back from the trip !I have cancelled all orders and do not intend to ever deal with Clothing Arts again. I probably should have looked at the customer reviews more closely.

Adam Rapp - owner CA

Says:

Please contact us directly, you will receive an update on your order from the service team.

Response to John T:

Your pants will be arriving over the weekend with our new delivery and ship right out the door. You have received the pre-shipment notice as we prepare all of the labels for the delivery.

Respone to John M.:

Your pants had a 4/30 pre-order date and we added you to the first shipping group when we processed all of the labels, just like John T. above. Had you not canceled your order, you would have received the two pants in time for your travels.

Lawrence Gresko

Says:

I wish I had seen this site before I ordered. I ordered three items, shirt, adventure pants and jeans, in February with an expected delivery in 2-3 weeks. I thought perfect to meet my schedule for a trip to Spain. What arrived was only the shirt. Didn’t like it. Its safety feature is nothing more than a zipper breast picket, so not a good value for the cost. Only when I requested a refund did I get a status on the rest of my order… April. I needed the Items for my trip in March. Ugh! Then a follow up email saying early May. Now its May, received the adventure pants and the jeans status is changed to the end of May.
For the adventure lants I ordered “grey” colored pants, but what I received is a olive green. Definitely not the color in the picture. I wrote to the company requesting a replacement in the correct color and then I found this web site and find the exact same complaint by a previous review… “and they are not the correct color. The tag states grey but they are green… I put the pants up beside a pair of grey Under Armour pants and grey Eddie Bauer pants and the Clothing Arts pants are green.” Ditto for me comparing to other pants I have that are grey. Its been 1 day since my email so time will tell. For me the fit is good, the quality seems good and the pick pocket system is ok except as noted below, but the colour I received is not grey and not like the picture.

I also have a similar complaint as a previous review about the rear pockets. The web site shows a picture of the rear pocket system but does not inform you that its not the same for both right and left pockets. Totally misleading. Only the left rear pocket has the inner zipper pocket, not the right. I’m right handed, I want the inner pocket on the right to reach with my right hand. The implication from the picture is all pockets have the same features.

I will update when I hear back about the grey vs green and when I finally receive the jeans. So far I really want to like the products, but the issues are disuading me… I havent received items on time, and so far 2 of 3 items are not what was expected.
I’m not going to say “dont buy” but the company has several things they need to improve: 1) be forthright BEFORE you order of the actual delivery schedule; 2) provide detail pictures of EVERY one of the safety features on EVERY pocket with CAPTIONS in EVERY picture of feature and pocket location; 3) Provide accurate detailed LARGE size pictures of the colors of every item, with a every item shown against a reference garment color, and show a photo of the full line up of colors all in the same photo, not just tiny separate select boxes; 4) live up to the promised delivery schedule or otherwise automatically and immediately provide a refund; and 5) provide for hassle free returns no matter what the reason and you pay the shipping. The customer is always right, because without customers you do not have a business… They will shop elsewhere.

Adam Rapp - owner CA

Says:

Response to Lawrence:

Demand for our pants are selling out the productions ahead of their delivery. Each month 4000 pants are shipped to us. We list the “expected” pre-order dates online and can be subject to change based on how the production is going. With 40,000+ pants shipped in the last year, we do our best for every traveler who upgrades to our apparel.

Sorry to hear you are unhappy with the color and features. There are 5 triple secure and 6 double secure pockets. The photos represent a close-up of them and there is a full feature list below the images. This lists that there is 1 hidden triple secure rear zipper in the pants.

Regarding the color, our Grey has a lot of Green / Brown tones to it. There are many shades of Grey and it is our most popular color by a wide margin.

Ted Findley

Says:

Contrary to most of the other comments, my experience was outstanding.

First of all, I contacted the company via email in regards to availability & delivery. Although each email received the typical automatic immediate “received your email” notice, it was nevertheless followed by an appropriate & timely response.

Secondly, I was particularly impressed with candor & thoughtfulness of the Service Manager, Stefany. She not only informed me as to the present lack of availability of the Adventure Travel Pants in my size & color, but also reasonably forecasted the approximate date they would be in stock.

Based upon the information provided, I ordered the pants and received them within the predicted timeframe.

As a seasoned traveler & having experienced theft some time ago in Rome, I am delighted with the quality & functionality of the Pick-Pocket Proof Adventure Pants.

Ted Findley

Chris Christensen

Says:

Thanks Ted, so glad you had a good experience!

Jon

Says:

I bought two pairs, and only received one pair. Returned the pair, and awaiting credit moths later. The quality was light weight, not substantial…made in China. Honestly, totally a marketing ploy. I have bought better quality at Walmart for less than $20.
Clothing Arts is spending more money on marketing than quality. Save your money and visit Walmart, as I have prior to Eastern Europe trip.

Chris Christensen

Says:

Jon, that’s odd. The pants I got were not at all lightweight. If I don’t bring them on a trip always, it is because there have too much heft.

Adam - Owner CA

Says:

Response to Ted:

So glad you have had a good experience with us. The vast majority of our customers do have a positive one.

Response to Jon:

Our pants are the absolute highest quality travelwear ever made. The material is a 4 season, water/stain resistant, mid-weight 100% Nylon canvas made specifically for us to take you wherever your travels lead. There are over 150,000 pairs of our pants on travelers around the world.

Don Atkinson-Adams

Says:

It did take quite awhile to get my adventure pants. However, I loved them for my two week trip to Peru. They were worn every day and still did not look dirty by the end of the trip. Very comfortable to wear. I use suspenders which makes the pants even more comfortable. They worked fine on my climb to Machu Picchu and to a couple of day treks to elevations around 14,000 ft.

Chris Christensen

Says:

Glad to hear it Don.

Bob Masaitis

Says:

This is my first time visiting this website (and will be my last.) It is sad that a few disgruntled customers (out of 150,000+) try to bring down a “one of a kind” company. I’ve placed three orders with Clothing Arts and each time I received the order when I expected it, all being exceptional quality and exactly what I wanted. I called each time to get the approximate date and Clothing Arts was spot on. I wasn’t sure of the colors represented on their website so I called and they immediately sent me swatches of the color/material I was interested. I been to 46 countries in the last several years and always take my Clothing Arts with me. I’m getting ready to order a Cubed Jacket for an upcoming Christmas Market cruise on the Rhine river. Good Job to the owners, managers and especially the folks answering the phones at Clothing Arts. Once again, I will call them to get an estimate on shipping.

Chris Christensen

Says:

Bob, it has never been my desire nor interest to “take down” Clothing Arts. My experience with them as I stated was positive. But not everyone’s has been.

fred

Says:

Even tho it states ships in 2 days and delivers in 5 beware as somewhere it also says that may ship by….and its a month later…
too late for me so cancelled

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

Response to Fred:

We list our pre-order dates on the product page, shopping cart, and the confirmation email you receive. US shipping will take 2-3 days once items come into the warehouse for pre-order items or for those items listed “In Stock” online.

If you do have a pending travel, our team will do their very best to get you pair of pants in time for your trip.

Philip Steel Jr

Says:

I returned Item # AdvSGY32N on Order #161471 on Jan. 18, 2019 and have not received refund of $99.95.Received your email Feb. 7 advising credit was issued but it has never appeared on my Amex statement.
PLEASE ADVISE,

Philip Steel, Jr.

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

Response to Philip:

If you would like to reach our service department, please reach out to our info@ email account. This order reflects closed out in our system. They will contact you directly regarding your order.

Jim Dunn

Says:

I ordered the shorts well before a European trip and the security made me so much more comfortable on tours and traveling in crowds that they were the only shorts I wore even though I had packed other shorts to wear. We were warned by a tour guide of theft issues and did not experience any attempts that were defeated but the peace of mind was worth it and the shorts fit well and looked good.

Chris Christensen

Says:

I do like the peace of mind I get when I wear mine also Jim 🙂

Andrew Inkin

Says:

Received my pair. My experience was this: at the time of ordering delivery date was 6/30/2019, this was fine with me. 6/28 I received “Pre-shipment notification” with USPS tracking number included. By 7/05 USPS status was still showing “Label created” making me a little nervous as my trip was approaching. Quick Google search brought me to this site and prompted me to contact the manufacturer on 07/08.
Received reply that same day, saying that my shipment will go out as soon as possible, on 07/09 USPS was showing “In Transit” and on 7/10 I’ve received my package.
I like the pants, size seems to be exactly as expected and while there were delays – manufacturer resolved things in a reasonable way.

Chris Christensen

Says:

Glad to hear Andrew!

Robert

Says:

In Mid-March 2019 I ordered a pair of the travel jeans along with the business travel pants. The business pants finally arrived 2 weeks ago after many delays.

No such luck with the jeans. Every time I contact customer service I get an excuse along the lines that it’s delayed because it’s a new product that’s having issues but it should arrive in their warehouse by the middle of the next month, which now makes the ETA 9/15. Problem for me is that my trip is scheduled for 9/16, so I won’t have along with me the pants that I ordered and paid for a whole six months in advance!

I’ve been more than patient up to this point but this is utterly ridiculous and completely unacceptable.

Designing, producing and shipping a batch of jeans is not f-ing rocket science.

Oh, and you’ve got to love the 5 Star review that the jeans get on the CA website from someone that bought a pair of different pants 5 years ago.

Vaporwear.

Robert

Says:

One more thing:

Has ANYONE received a pair of the travel jeans?

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

Response to Robert:

Travel Jeans are a new product and the first-ever run in production now. We worked with a mill to create a new type of denim specifically for this line. It is a highly technical Coolmax / Cotton / Poly / Modal / Lycra blend. It is real science to create new types of fibers from scratch and this is an amazing material.

This is the first production of the jeans and they will ship out to everyone once initial production is approved at the factory. I leave next week to watch the work myself, as I do with all new products.

We have sent out a few preview samples to test the fit of the jeans. If you would contact us directly, we can work to get you a pair in time for your travel.

Robert

Says:

Hi Adam. Thank you for your prompt response, and your offer to get me a pair before my trip. I truly appreciate it.

I’ll contact you directly tomorrow.

Something I should add is, as I mentioned before, I did finally receive the business travel pants. My initial impression is that the material, fit, and styling are quite nice. I like that the hidden pocket is perfect size for a passport. I will feel very secure carrying my valuables in them. Well done!

I will post a fuller user review upon my return. Hopefully a review of the jeans too, as they are the ones I wanted most for the trip.

Don Flaxbart

Says:

I ordered a jacket from Clothing Arts in April 2019. I was called in August 2019 with notification that the jacket will not be delivered until November, ALMOST 7 MONTHS LATER. Reasons stated for the delay are excessive demand and improvement in fabric. (For my viewpoint, it does not matter how good the jacket may be if it cannot be delivered in sufficient time.)

Barb

Says:

I just received my pair of travel pants and they fit really well. I love the 34″ length as I am 5’11”, and I like that they are not low-cut; they come nearly to my waist. I’m looking forward to “road-testing” them on a big trip in a few weeks.

Ted Findley

Says:

Recently returned from a Land-Cruise sojourn (Budapest-Vienna-Prague-Dresden-Berlin-Copenhagen-Stockholm-Helsinki-St Petersburg-Tallinn-Oslo) and were repeated warned by the tour guide of specific hot areas for pickpockets. Nowadays they even pose as tourists and are prevalent in the packed Hermitage Museum.

I safely carried my passport, money, credit cards & smartphone through all sites, located in selected strategic areas of my Clothing Arts Pickpocket-Proof pants. I knew they were safe because even I had some difficulty removing certain items when I wanted.

A day at home prior to the trip was used to evaluate usage of the pants for safety & also quick access. The variable functionality of the Pickpocket-Proof pants is amazing. The fit was very comfortable & the usage wear was phenomenal.

Thanks Clothing Arts!!

G

Says:

Ordered , got part of order , waiting on pants . For over 2 months now . Get a email , ship next week , then nothing . No shipped , no tracking , no pants . These people are unbelievable, never dealt with a company like this in my life, are an absolute joke . Would find something elsewhere , they charge your card when order , whole amount send part , then nothing on remaining order . Would not recommend unless , want to wait over 2 months plus to maybe get your order. Never again , live and learn . Need to have a big warning sign / label on their ads . Consider this REVEIW a warning about . Sad way to operate a company .

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

Response to G:

All of our pants, until we increase our production capacity to meet the demand for them, are on pre-order. We make 4000 pants right now per month and 6000 starting next month. Our service team will update you as they arrive from production and ship out.

You received a pre-shipment email. This means your pants are the next to ship out. We send this out to allow you time to adjust your order and for us to process and sort the 1000+ labels for each delivery.

LauraWilliamson

Says:

I received my women’s travel pants a couple of days ago. Was pleased with the fit – I thought I might have ordered small, but they aren’t. I counted 12 pockets, which I hadn’t expected. In the morning, I put my passport and a typical days worth of foreign currency, separated into different areas, in the pockets and wore them for the full day. ( That’s when I discovered the 13th pocket.)
Yes, they came 2 months after ordering, but that was stated at the time of ordering. Yes, my credit card was charged on ordering, not on shipping, but in my experience that’s standard practice for internet orders.
When I contacted customer service around the time the pants should have been shipped to check on their status, I had an immediate auto response and follow up from a customer service rep within 8 hours.
I’ve been really pleased with my whole experience with Clothing Arts. I don’t know if there were growing pain problems that are behind them now, or if too many people expect off the rack instant gratification. I would definitely recommend ordering these!

Chris Christensen

Says:

Laura, it does seem to me that some of the problems we can see in the older comments here have been worked out and happen less often.

Jim Kelly

Says:

I ordered a pair in April. Was told would be here in May, June, July, Aug and still don’t have them. I suspect they need to get lots of orders so they can raise money to order pants from manufacturer. I would not order again unless you can wait six months. They charge your Acct when you order them

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

Response to Jim:

I have looked into your order and you have received your pre-shipment notice and your pants will be arriving with the next shipment.

It looks like size 42″ waist in Brown Adventure arrived in fewer pairs than expected in our last delivery so your pair will be arriving with our next delivery to the warehouse.

Rusty Welch

Says:

After reading these comments, I was apprehensive in ordering a pair, but not finding anything comparable I ordered a pair of the Adventure Travel Pants on 8/22. I received a receipt email, then further emails when shipped, and also when they were delivered today (9/5). 2 weeks – pretty good! I have tried them on and am delighted with the fit and comfort. They are light-weight and very comfortable. I ordered a size up after hearing about sizing issues, but they seem to be true-to-size – nothing my belt won’t be able to handle.
Having been worried about time delays and sizing, I only ordered 1 pair to try and get them ahead of an international trip – I’m going to order my 2nd pair tonight, with full confidence that I will have a couple of good-looking, comfortable travel pants that will secure my passport and wallet while traveling. Whatever issues they may have had in the past seem to be worked out – Thank You Clothing Arts!

Carla Madrigal

Says:

I ordered shirts for both a man and a woman at the end of June 2019. It took three months to receive the men’s shirt and Clothing Art has been putting me off this whole time. They now expect at the earliest mid October. So outrageous. There should be a note on their site indicating that one should plan ahead a minimum of four months for delivery. I ordered these items specifically for a trip. At least my husband has his but who knows when I will receive mine. Zero Stars for this company.

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

Respons to Carla:

We have great news and your shirt will be shipping out today.

Our service manager had informed you that your shirt will be coming in over the weekend. We hope that it arrives in time for your travel. Enjoy both of your new travel shirts for years to come.

John Walker

Says:

I have read a lot of bad reviews about this company and was a little nervous about ordering from them, but I have got to tell you my experience with Jennifer from the company couldn’t have gone any better. I asked first if what I wanted was in stock and once she said yes, I placed my order, 17th of Oct a Wednesday and the order will be here Saturday, Oct 19th. Can’t get any better than that. Now the pants aren’t cheap and I hope I like them and they fit well but that’s a story for another day.

Mike Camp

Says:

Stay away from this company unless you want to wait an eternity for your items. I order a pair of there jeans in December 2018 and now almost a year later I have received nothing. No communications. And to boot they have all my money. This has to be the most unprofessional company I have ever dealt with. To small for there volume of business. This company would get negative stars from me.
I am now going to a local TV station as they said they would like to do a report about this. Will do followup later

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

Response to Mike:

Our jeans a brand new product for us and are still in process and once they are perfect, we will release them. There was a 4-5 month pre-order at the time you purchased them and we have run into a number of new issues that were not expected with them along the way.

New machines needed to be ordered to sew the heavyweight highly-technical stretch denim these pants use which pushed our timetables once. The second was the wash finishing on them which has become quite technical as well since we are adding a DWR (durable water repellant) finish to them. They will be finished up and shipping soon. Most folks have been quite understanding as they are an innovative, new item, and you are welcome to cancel your order at any time.

Evan Gibson

Says:

Amazing, Thank you so much Clothing Arts. The pants fit great and they work even better! No one is pick pocketing anything out of these. You guys are the very best. From Rome, Athens, Pisa, Florence, Barcelona and London.

G Van R

Says:

After getting my passport and wallet swiped I ordered a pair of Clothing Arts cargo pants as soon as I returned to the US knowing that I would be traveling again soon. My order arrived right on time.
These are complicated garments to make and I am impressed by the quality. I would not be comfortable traveling around Central America without these pants.

Chris Christensen

Says:

So glad to hear G. It does seem like complaints of delays are… mostly… a thing of the past

Michelle

Says:

My order arrived within a few days. I am thrilled with the quality and functionality. They are much better than I expected. I will definitely purchase additional pants.

Owen

Says:

I ordered two pairs of the Pick-Pocket Proof Adventure Travel Pants (different waist sizes, knowing that at least one pair would have to be returned). Given many negative reviews here, I braced for a big hassle, but placed the order anyway after receiving an email from C.A. stating that the pants were in stock. I received the pants in a timely manner.

I love the idea of these pants, but the fit on both pairs wasn’t good for me so I needed to return both pairs.

The return went smoothly. I emailed them first to let them know the pants were being returned and subsequently gave them my tracking number and estimated date of delivery. The credit appeared on my CC account two days after the return was received by C.A.

So, for me the items didn’t fit well but I had no issues with delays, communication with C.A., returns or anything else.

Bill King

Says:

I read through all the reviews and it made me nervous about ordering a pair of these pants from clothing arts, but I’m traveling to NYC and really want something reliable so I went ahead and placed the order. That sucks that so many people had bad experiences waiting for their orders, but mine came right away. I think it was about 3-4 days. I was also very pleased to find that the pants fit as expected. The front pockets are definitely pick-pocket proof. The cargo and back pockets are not. I plan to add a strip of velcro to those to help the level of resistance. Overall I think if you travel a lot they would be worth their $100 price tag.

Chris Christensen

Says:

Bill, most of the bad experiences are in the past. The more recent reviews, like yours, seem to be better.

Wallace Lehmann

Says:

I like it when folks come together and share opinions. Great website, keep it up!

Marilyn Clark

Says:

I was nervous after I read through the reviews. I am going to Africa
next month and really wanted the pick-pocket proof pants. I was totally impressed! I placed a phone order for two pairs of women’s travel pants on February 4th. The pants arrived today, February 6th. I love the them. They fit perfectly. Will definitely order again

Dale

Says:

Clothing Arts shorts and pants provide solid resistance to pick pockets. However, the fabric used (nylon) in the business travel pants is unacceptable. The material has no substance such that the pants look baggy and wrinkled — the appearance is not all “business-like.” I have department store brand pants that hold a professional look much better and at a much lower price. The fabric used in the shorts is somewhat better because it has a bit more substance, though the shorts do not dry as fast and as well as other nylon camping shorts. I do not intend to purchase any other items from Clothing Arts — their products do not match all their claims.

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

Hi Dale … Glad you’re a fan of the pick-pocket resistance of the pants. Travelers wearing them have now stopped 170+ pick-pockets red-handed around the world. All of our men’s pants use the same nylon which is now worn by 200,000+ travelers. There is no difference between the shorts and pants you have from us. The material in wrinkle-resistant and will keep you looking good and secure on and off the road. If you are comparing nylon to permanent press cotton pants at retail, you will find a difference in fabric thickness, also in dry-time which can be days for cotton when washed in a sink and hung dry and just hours for nylon.

rob

Says:

The customer service for this company is beyond poor! On two separate occasions, I was forced to to cancel orders which could not be fulfilled after waiting months. Each time, the company (after long delays) contacted and assured me the the order would be fulfilled by a certain date only to fail to deliver as promised.

When ordering the items, there was no indication that the products ordered were not in stock or not even produced! There were B.S. excuses that there were delays because of the pockets and then the color. You name it!

Do not waste your time with these unprofessional jokers.

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

– Response to Rob –

Hi Rob… we list all pre-order (back-ordered) items online. Those dates are listed in the product details and dynamical changes based on color / size selected. As deliveries arrive, they are all filled. We have typically use commercial airlines to fly our products in. With what is going on in the world today, shipments are taking longer to arrive to our warehouse and we are working with our suppliers to find alternatives. The next shipment will be 3000 pairs of pants and is expected over the weekend which would likely have filled your order.

Michael Braun

Says:

How do I start? Is this a company in the business of protecting you from pick-pockets or are they themselves the pick-pockets?
I still hope to hear something about the order I placed two months ago. After payment was immediate withdrawn from my bank account and not a word from them since, the title internet scam artists comes to mind.Thankfully I didn’t place a larger order.I hate to think I am the only sucker here.

Kevin McGuire

Says:

On October 6, 2019 I placed an order for Clothing Arts new Travel Jeans, with an expected delivery of Nov 15, 2019. Well on April 17 (I’m fairly patient, but really) I cancelled the order as it appears the jeans will never arrive. I’m still waiting on my “it will be credited to your account in 3-5 business days” refund. I’ve spent a lot of money with this company, but it looks like that doesn’t count for anything.

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

– Response to Michael & Kevin –

Due to the global shutdown in cargo from where we produce, our most recent planned deliveries have been delayed. Our production is based in India and the country has been shutdown since mid-March. Many of our styles have experienced a delay due to conditions outside our control.

The good news is that supply chains are reopening and we expect our shipments to start arriving again shortly. Our first shipment containing nearly 5000 items of various styles is expect in the next week or two.

Kevin

Says:

Refund was received on May 4.

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

-Response to Kevin-

We do have Graphite Explorer Jeans in stock for immediate shipment if you would like to try that color as it was completed before the shutdown in India. The Blue Explorer Jeans have been in process for quite some time as our fabric is brand a new type of denim and took longer to work with than expected. They were coming off the production line before the shutdown at production and will begin shipping to us once the factory reopens and pants start shipping to us once again.

The Graphite color is at our warehouse and can ship right away for you.

John Richards

Says:

I ordered a pair of pants on February 6, 2020. They were shipped on February 27, 2020. They did not fit and I returned them on March 3, 2020. I have confirmation of delivery to Clothing Arts by UPS on March 10 2020, received by Frank (inside delivery). Still no refund of my $116.95 fro this product.

Michael Braun

Says:

The clothing I ordered arrived today. It is top quality! I look forward to wearing these items on future trips.
I wish to retract the less than flattering comments I made about this company, in a previous post. I just wish they would better keep customers informed on reasons for extended delays on delivery of orders.

Nelson

Says:

I ordered two pairs of the Adventure pants February 25th. supposedly for a March 15 shipping date. When they didn’t arrive I spoke to a Customer Rep who said they would ship the end of April, so I left the order standing and did not cancel, as she offered. They did not arrive. I’ve since left two emails and one voice message with no reply. Where is order #1111860?

Adam Rapp - owner CA

Says:

– Response to Nelson –

Hey, we have great news for you and your order will be shipping today or tomorrow. We received our most recent delivery from production today containing 5000+ items and your order will go right out the door. We hope you enjoy them at home and abroad as soon as possible.

Leslie

Says:

These pickpocket-proof pants are really good for crowded places. These reviews are well serving for the correct audience.

Glade

Says:

I ordered two pair of pants early this year. One pair showed up and they were too big. That was nobody’s fault, they just fit bigger then others that I have had in the same size. I thought the other pair would come shipped separately, but after nothing showed up I wrote and asked what had happened. I got an email notifying me that because of the corona virus they could not accept returns and would notify me when they were able to do so. OK, I can live with that, and the virus certainly isn’t their fault. But I asked about the second pair and asked if they could send me the correct size. They told me to wait. A month later I asked again if they could just send me the correct size for the second pair. I got a snotty email back telling me that they could not send me the correct size, but if I wanted a second pair they could send me another of the too-big ones to complete the order. I thought that was totally out of line, and told them to go ahead and send me the second pair of the wrong size, and then when they could accept returns I would send them both back and they could replace them with the correct size. Finally they figured out some other place to return them, and allowed me to return the too-big ones. Finally three months later I got the two pair of the correct size. They fit well and I am happy with them. I hope to be able to travel overseas soon and use them, as I have had my pockets picked twice in Italy. I wrote and told them that I was happy with the pants but I thought it was inappropriate for them to send me a snotty email offering to send me the wrong size again. I got a reply telling me that it was the fault of the corona virus that the shipment took so long. I have no complaint about taking a long time to fill the order. I understand that, but I am amazed that their customer service people either can’t figure out what they did wrong or have no interest in doing so. I would certainly never buy anything else from them again.

Gene

Says:

I am considering buying a pair of the pickpocket proof Convertible pants and concerned about delivery and paying before they ship. Most other companies you are invoiced when it ships. Why are you terms different. It appears to be you are not the manufactured, is that correct? Where and what country are these pants manufactured?
What guarantee do I have on lead times? Do you publish lead times ?

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

– Response To Gene –

Hi Gene, we have a number of styles in stock right now and more arriving each week. If we are sold out, we will list the expected pre-order date for the item arriving to our warehouse on the website and in your order confirmation. Freight is now moving regularly between our production and warehouse, following a brief shutdown due to the virus, and orders are being filled as quickly as possible. Please contact us directly via our info@ email address and we can get you get set up with a pair of our pants.

Kenneth T

Says:

Like everyone else, I had a TERRIBLE experience with Clothing Arts. I ordered three pairs of travel pants. The ship date came and went. They never came. I called SIX TIMES to get help. No answer. I left voice mails- no return calls. I went on the chat feature of the website (during business hours)- no one there. I ended up doing a credit card dispute and got my money back.

This company appears to be either already bankrupt, or close to it. Most businesses get an inventory loan and buy inventory in advance of sales. Not these guys. If you buy anything from them, you WILL BE SORRY. I just contacted the state Attorney General and asked them to open a criminal investigation into this ripoff company.

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

– Response To Kenneth –

My team will be reaching out to you tomorrow. From my logs, our service team did leave you a return voicemail regarding your order which is expected to arrive shortly. The 7/15 preorder group in certain sizes experienced a delay of a few days at the factory in finishing and missed one shipment cycle. We are getting deliveries every week now, and they will give you the details tomorrow.

Kenneth T

Says:

As a followup, Adam Rapp sent me an email stating he had refunded by money. I will be looking for another source for travel pants.

Adam Rapp - owner CA

Says:

-Response To Kenneth-

Our service team is all working remotely due to covid and responds to phone calls and emails as quickly as possible. Since you mentioned a dispute, I went ahead and refunded your order. The pants would have shipped out next week for you. Safe travels.

Ahsan Parvez

Says:

These pick-pocket proof pants are so necessary. As the thieves are getting worst day by day.

Roger Van Der Moolen

Says:

Does anyone know if this place is still in business? It seems like their service was horrible but are they even open now?

Chris Christensen

Says:

They contacted me in January and were still around.

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

-Response to Roger Van Der Moolen-

Hi Roger… we are open and have operated through the pandemic. There is nothing in our service system with your name on it, so please email us at info [at] clothingarts.com and we can help you out.

stephen

Says:

The idea – fantastic. The execution – meh. The sales experience – boo hiss.
Great idea and would probably go a long way to thwart thieves. The jeans were especially thin and may not last long, yet to be determined. Even after several washings rubbing fingers on the jeans leaves blue dye on your fingers and nails. The sales experience – it took forever to get these. They probably wait for enough orders then manufacture a batch. Would I buy them again? No.

Adam Rapp - Owner CA

Says:

-Response to stephen-

Hi Stephen… glad you’re a fan of the ideas. The jeans are made using highly technical 5 fiber denim which needs to be washed in cold water. If you have washed it in warm/hot water you can get some color releasing on the indigo (blue) color. Please contact our service team and we will help to fix the issue.

Leave a Reply

Tags: , ,